Hello, I am new, Suggestions would be nice!

SladeinFull
Unregistered

Hello to you all, my name is Sam and I come from New Zealand. I am a high achieving student (currently in K-12 education) and am currently a year ahead in school. I have always been interested in making computer games since I was smaller, it all started when I saw Zelda on Nintendo 64 and Kalona for PS1, back then those were some quality games and I still adore them (well Zelda at least Wacko ).

As you can see, I am rather enthusiastic about game creation and gaming, but the thing is... I don't know where or how to start... I have no knowledge of any programing language except for using Silver Creator and mucking around with that (which isn't that challenging and it doesn't have enough features), what I was wondering was, does any one know of or could tell me a good language to start learning for game creation. I would very much appreciate it if any of you could set me in the right path for game creation and development. Even if you took me under your wing for any games you are creating would be very nice as I might be of some use for the odd jobs and see how the professionals do it.

Any way, I would like it if any suggestions would be towards apple gaming as that is all I would really want seeing as I am a bit of a applefreak.

My computer is not that great at the moment as my G5 imac recently broke but I am using a G3 imac and I will be getting a Intel iMac soon, the G3 has a 450 MHZ PPC proccessor and 512MB SDRAM. I have MAC OS X 10.4 (Tiger) installed.
I have access to developer tools, Adobe PhotoShop 7, I have Mac Python installed so I can run those files in terminal so it is quite capable of running most things. I am quite good at using the pen tool in photoshop (all though I don't have a tablet) and you can see some of my work on DeviantArt aswell as my photography.

I am looking forward to any responses and hope to hear back from any of you...
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary