MMORPG question???

Apprentice
Okay, I'm an aspiring game designer and I really want to make a small scale game for my friends and I; for just the 12 of us. What software (or hardware) do I need to begin making a small scale (16 person) online RPG? Also, what programming language do I need to know in order to make an online RPG?

I'm going to make a 2D (paper mario-like) online RPG, btw (like Maple Story)
Quote this message in a reply
This is probably not be the type of reply you are looking for, but I'd suggest you read this...

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
cloud9saul Wrote:Okay, I'm an aspiring game designer and I really want to make a small scale game for my friends and I; for just the 12 of us. What software (or hardware) do I need to begin making a small scale (16 person) online RPG? Also, what programming language do I need to know in order to make an online RPG?

I'm going to make a 2D (paper mario-like) online RPG, btw (like Maple Story)

This is like saying that you want to play in the NFL by the end of next year, and all you need to do is learn football first.

Also, there seem to be an awful lot of "aspiring game designers" out there, I wonder why that might be?

I will tell you right now, unless you have a tremendous unbending desire to create your own games, which is strong enough to carry you through all the hardships of learning, and later on development cycles, I would drop the idea right now if I were you. I promise you, game development is 1,000 harder than what you might think it is right now.

But, if you're willing to work at it, then learn to program(which can take some time), then learn to move little images across the screen, and then come back to this board and ask us about the technology, apis, etc. that one might use to program a small scale mmo.

Good luck either way.
Since the idevgames community is adamant about never even attempting anything related to MMORPG, look to the WIndows world for help.