Game Design degree

Windeos
Unregistered

Hi im basically a lost soul looking for some helpful advice. Im 21 with nothing but gcse qualifications, im seriously considering going to uni to study computer game design. Ive always played and loved games but im totally interested in making a living off it.

Im in a crappy job at the minute and basically want a complete change. So here's what i was wondering, what sort of job opportunities is there in the game design genre and do any people no any top class course's that will actually push me basically into a job when i complete the course (of course only if i do well in the chosen course).

Ive been thinking for so long about doing this and then all of a sudden i found this site, i no im a complete noob but im really interested and im basically looking into at the minute so any information would be helpful, if anyone can help me out with any experience they can pass on to me please do.

ps im from N.ireland but willing to go anywhere in uk to study

Regards Windeos
Quote this message in a reply
Try taking a look at Dundee, Scotland.

http://www.abertay.ac.uk/Courses/Courses...=1&Key=002
Here's some of my babble on the video game making business:

- I don't know how much or even if a `game development' degree really helps. It seems like many universities are beginning to offer degrees related to video games nowadays. While I've heard from some that they are mostly worthless, I've heard that others have landed jobs with them. YMMV. However, it *does* make some sense that there are universities offering studies on it considering that the video game industry is supposedly on par with, if not larger than, the movie industry nowadays.
- I have a friend who studied computer science in college and she took a course on game programming and dropped it because it was too hard -- and she's a hard worker!