Looking for a 2D MMORPG programmer

KirkS
Unregistered

iDevGames,

My name is Kirk Sigmon and I am a project manager of an up-and-coming 2D Massively Multiplayer Onlne Game. With about 20 people in our staff already, this is an absolutely huge project, and we're constantly looking for green or existing talent to take on the team.

Right now, my team is looking for a programmer for the game itself. While we have many people offering to take the job, the job position is open to anyone who can impress my critique team and I. This job would involve the actual programming of the entire engine, which would include the following features:
* An action-RPG battle engine
* A MMORPG backbone allowing hundreds of players to play on one game server
* Support for open source formats such as OGG Vorbis, Speex, PNG, and the like
* Support for OSX and XP and Greater (eg: No DirectX)
* A level engine, including a level editor
* An internal scripting engine for level developers

All of this is to be done in a format that is both low footprint and expandable. My team would prefer "basic" coding languages (C++, C, et al) rather than any kind of language that requires external downloads (such as JAVA). This project will be incredibly detailed, but because we have laid things out for you (as well as consulted with other programmers), I can assure you that everything is not only simple work, but also very straightforward and structured work.

More details can be given in a documentation file we have that outlines virtually every single detail and feature the game should contain.

This project will be paid in a unique way. Instead of a lump-sum payment before or after the project, you will be contractually obligated to a percentage of future profits capped at a reasonable level. For example, you could get 3% of all net profits capped at $40,000 or more for your work- a large amount of money for even the most advanced coder.