Sell me on Developing Games on Mac/Cocoa

Nibbie
Hi All,

I'm a noob on this board. I'm an academic scientist (neuroscience/AI) who develops software for my own and now (hopefully) for others use. I'm starting my most ambitious project to date - a large scale neural network simulator with a nice GUI front end. The hope is that I can make it easier for non-programmer/non-mathematician neuroscientists to analyze their data and simulate very large neural networks. The tools I'm creating are very visual and so I find myself borrowing a lot of techniques and code from game programming and that is how I ended up here.

Before I get any deeper into this I wanted to get opinions on game dev on the Mac, as I am trying to make this package as intuitive and 'game-like' as possible for people to use. I am already comfortable with Cocoa, Bindings, Core Data, etc., for data display and manipulation so there are strong reasons for me to keep using the mac. What I am wondering is if there are any more powerful libraries for game dev (esp. 3D graphics and game physics) available for Windows and/or Linux that I will be missing out on by locking myself into the mac.

Also, If anyone knows of a post or article that has a good head to head comparison of game dev on different platforms that would be helpful.
Quote this message in a reply
I'm not too familiar with the neuroscience community but my first question would be whether there is a particular trend in what neuroscientists use for their computing platform.

But really, I think what you're looking for is good cross platform solution. Have you looked into SDL/OpenGL at all? This would have all the power you need for graphics and would be easy/trivial to port between OSes.
Nibbie
Yep Jaden, SDL is on my reading list, but thanks for the prod - I'll go back and look it over now. The 3D data displays I have written so far are all Cocoa OpenGL based.