For Cocoa Game developers

"When you dream, there are no rules..."
Quote this message in a reply
Thanks... that inspired me to start work on this:

[Image: CCSS.jpg]

I'm getting a bit stuck with all these classes and so on, but I'll persevere.
Looks purty. What is that? Shogi?

The brains and fingers behind Malarkey Software (plus caretaker of the world's two brattiest felines).
Luminary
Not Shogi (it has a 9x9 board, no colors, pieces that indicate direction, etc.) I'm guessing it's some kind of Chinese equivalent, but I'm interested too Smile
Yeah, that looks pretty interesting Maximile, what is it?
It's Xiangqi, or Chinese Chess. I couldn't find a good Mac version, so I thought I'd have a go at making one. It's really a very cool board game.

Now I just have to make all of those pieces do the right things. I'm pretty new to OO programming, but eager to learn, so I thought it would be a good idea to have one class for "piece", which contains all the drawing code and a few simple rules, and then a class that inherits from it for each type of piece which contains all the code about legal moves. Does that sound like a reasonable way to go about it?
maximile Wrote:Does that sound like a reasonable way to go about it?
No.

Graphics and game logic should be kept completely separate, broadly speaking. The graphics should follow the logic, not be integrated with it.