Scripting Language: Rolling Your Own

Apprentice
Greetings all. First, an introduction. I'm new here again (my old account expired possibly due to inactivity, never posted, just lurked). I started programming for the Mac in 1996 after acquiring a first generation PPC. I went from 68K to PPC code, dabbled in Carbon and Cocoa, and now I'm back in familiar territory: PPC code for Classic.

My first major project was ambititious: a simplified RPG/adventure game based on an old tabletop game called "Dungeon Dwellers". It's been my one project I refuse to let die and after many rewrites from scratch, I think I'm finally in a position to finish it (or at least get past the proof-of-concept stage!).

Creating a modular system where in-game objects may be capable of very different abilities was always the difficult part. I tried creating a data structure that could be versatile enough for the most complex behavior yet compact enough so that a simple object that only displays a line of text when activated doesn't feel like a waste of HD space.

I also dabbled in 'CODE' resources and got results. Unfortunately, I was limited to 68K code so that path was short-lived. It wasn't until I decided to store game object data and behavior in a text file when things started to take off. It started as a scripting language solely for interactive dialogue between the player and NPCs. Dialogue would be displayed and the player could choose their response via clikable links (or by typing into an editable text dialog, whichever was appropriate).

I scoured the net and found most scripting languages are written in a C-like syntax. I wanted something that was simpler to compile so I opted for an HTML-like syntax for on-screen display and soon after added an assembly-like syntax for logic.

The result is a scripting language that can be tested and compiled in a script reader application and an engine that can be plugged into an application that can make use of its features.