Some questions on languages from a new guy (...beginners)

Apprentice
I'm new to this board and after searching through the forums and reading quite a bit, I still have a couple questions.

I've been trying to learn programming off and on for several years but since I'm a graphic designer (production only a.t.m.) my work doesn't require any coding. I've read parts of several books and tried a handful of languages, never finding quite the right language/book match. I think it has partly to do with my lack of formal education on the subject and having no programmer peers.
I am trying programming once more, kind of a multi-pronged attack using several languages PHP, BASIC (in some form) and Applescript. I know using multiple languages can complicate learning but I don't have a problem separating the syntactical differences in my mind.

So, in a nutshell, I'm trying to learn how to program. a.t.m., I started with TNT Basic a week ago. I'm interested in making little games like Pong, Breakout, Tetris, and the like, then on to 8bit NES style platformers and shooters, etc. Not too interested in 3D games, maybe later IF I have a solid grip on programming. I'm also interested in learning how to build small apps, which Applescript Studio tutorials are teaching me. Thinking of getting the book "Beginning Applescript" (for cheap on amazon.com). Opinions?

I tinkered with C++ and found it too complex for a noobie. I see C recommended but am afraid it will also be too complicated for a non-programmer to learn alone.
I like what I've seen of Applescript and TNT Basic's syntax(es?) and want to stay with some incarnation of BASIC until I get a better understanding of how to build a complete application, on my own, multiple times.

Questions:
1) What is the best current incarnation of BASIC (preferably free, while I'm learning) ?
I've seen mention of TNT, METAL, FutureBASIC, ExtremeBASIC (dead?) and for $$ RealBASIC.