Python and game programming

iDevAwesomeGames
Unregistered

Ok, I am 12 years old and I started programming about 2 years ago. At the time I learned python and dipped into C++. I had to give up programming due to school and personal life. Now I'm back anyway and have been playing Eve-online for a while which I think is an awesome game.
I have decided that I would, in the future, want to attempt at creating an MMORPG. I know that this requires a lot of hard work and time and that it is an enourmous project to attempt.
I would like to start creating games in Python since that is what I know best and seems to be a good programming language. I do however want to then later on create my mmorpg in python aswell of course so I don't need to learn a whole new language.

Is this possible to do with python or should I learn a different language? If I should learn a new one which one would you recommend?
Quote this message in a reply
You probably wouldn't want to do the whole game in Python, because it's likely to be slow. But lots of games have the engine written in C or C++ and then use a scripting language like Python to control the game logic and AI, and to make it easier to add to. You might want to consider doing something like that.
iDevAwesomeGames
Unregistered

That sounds good. I have gone through several C++ tutorials and most of them were interesting but not a lot of fun to read. Would anyone know of any "fun" to read tutorials for C++ or Cocoa?
Once you've learned one programming language and worked with it for a while, learning a new one is significantly easier. Many concepts carry over quite cleanly. In terms of developing such a large-scale game, having to learn a new language is going to be one of the least of your worries.