GPU shadow volume extrusion with GLSL

Sage
This is branch from an earlier thread which I started, and then derailed http://idevgames.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13373

So, I'm about to transition from CPU to GPU shadow volume extrusion. This being said, I understand the CPU approach ( I wrote it! ) but being a novice shader programmer, I hope people can help me a little with the math, since shaders live in a slightly different space.

First, I believe I understand the principle for GPU shadow volume extrusion. I have three VBOs -- one for the triangle geometry which makes up the light facing caps and the extruded caps. One for per-vertex normals so I know I'm getting the triangle's normal for each vertex ( I know this means vertex duplication ). And finally, one VBO which contains doubled-up edges as quads for silhouette extrusion. My understanding is that I can use the same shader for silhouette extrusion as for volume caps.

Now, in my CPU implementation the approach I take is this:

1) I use the inverse of the modelview matrix for the model to transform the light position to the untransformed space of the model.

2) I do the extrusion to infinity more or less like so ( leaving out silhouette math. Also, the code below is for positional light, not directional )
Code:
vec4 p = points[...];
pInfinity = vec4( p.x * lightPosition.w - lightPosition.x,
                          p.y * lightPosition.w - lightPosition.y,
                          p.z * lightPosition.w - lightPosition.z,
                          0.0f );

3) When I render the volume, leaving out the stencil code, I just multmatrix the model's transformation matrix and display the vertex arrays I calculated in step 2.

So, here's what I'm wondering with regards to doing this on the GPU.

1) When rendering the volume, I assume I'll multmatrix by the model's transformation before rendering the volume. In my GLSL code I can get the vertex relative light direction via something like:

Code: