I am writing an RTS in TNTBasic. But want to port to other platforms later.

I have been preparing for this stage of my life for 4 years...actually writing a sci-fi RTS. its very exciting. Wink However, the only language which I can use are RealBasic and TNTBasic. I looked at both of my options and decided that TNTbasic is cheaper by infinite number of times and seems to be designed completely around manipulating sprites, unlike RealBasic. The older versions of RealBasic aren't very usable to me, either.

However, I would like to make this game available to windows and hopefully linux too. I've decided to write this game in TNTBasic first, to see if I can actually finish it. After it is finished, purchase BlitxMax and port it over there. The reason is that I don't want to pay $80 and find out i can't actually complete my game.

So, is it feasible to port TNTBasic projects, especially large ones to become a BlitzMax project? (I am estimating my project will have around 15000 to 20000 lines of code. It is currently a couple of thousand lines, consisting of the main menu, the 'scenario loading flexible config-flags' and the set up screen.) Just to elaborate, the 'scenario loading flexible config-flags' is like a script but only has 3 commands, just enough to load the scenario and to point to other files of its type so that the config-flags doesn't need to be repeated for each scenario in the same game-universe.

I also want to ask if such a large project in Basic can get a good enough speed. :S I have constructed a prototype, involving 2 units and 2 planets and an exceedingly simple AI, with one type of particle. It can get reasonable speed on my Macbook. (60+ frames/sec). But it is only a small prototype...