Will you design my MMORPG?

Hi iDevGames Community,

I'm a seasoned developer with a lot of experience in C programming, OpenGL, and distributed systems, both using MPI and my own homegrown communication protocol. I've worked on some very large projects (80+ developers) that have shipped internationally. However, I'd really like to try my hand at working on a game.. specifically an MMO. I've brought a couple of my friends, including some professional artists, voice actors, and 3D modelers that have experience mostly in Maya.

We've got a license for the SpeedTree programming package (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SpeedTree) and the Havok Game Dynamics SDK (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Havok_%28software%29). We know these things cost a lot of money, so we really want to get this game done right the first time. We'd like to sell this game, and have already quit our jobs as software engineers, which average $80,500 a year (http://money.cnn.com/magazines/moneymag/bestjobs/). We think we'll do better than that with this MMO.

If you don't know how to program, that's okay. We've got that part covered.

Also, don't worry about starting with a small project. We want to go straight into the full project, and not waste any time with the little stuff.

Since we have licenses for this big stuff, we'll not bother working ourway up through the technology.

And most importantly:

5. Do not give up. Ever. This IS a realistic goal; we can do it today.

What we need from you.. is someone with some fresh ideas. We'd like a game designer who will tell us what to code. If you can write stories, that would be a plus. If you don't have any art skills, that's okay too. Like I said, we have artists. Also, don't worry if you're young, we can help you work out your ideas.
Quote this message in a reply
Apprentice