Fix code boxes!

Sage
Posts: 1,403
Joined: 2005.07
Post: #1
Code:
Code
boxes
are
really
far
too
small
for
a
programming
forum

Sir, e^iπ + 1 = 0, hence God exists; reply!
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
Posts: 5,143
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #2
This breaks every time Carlos so much as looks at the forum configuration. I don't know why it's always so hard to get right Sad
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 522
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #3
Maybe so... but y'all could at least say "please."
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: 2003.01
Post: #4
OneSadCookie Wrote:This breaks every time Carlos so much as looks at the forum configuration.

Blink Is that Ruby?

©h€ck øut µy stuƒƒ åt ragdollsoft.com
New game in development Rubber Ninjas - Mac Games Downloads
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Posts: 1,258
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #5
Najdorf Wrote:Blink Is that Ruby?

No .............
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Posts: 1,403
Joined: 2005.07
Post: #6
please

(maybe also remove the "The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 10 characters." thingy)

Sir, e^iπ + 1 = 0, hence God exists; reply!
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Posts: 1,258
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #7
And the pointless 60 second search limit...

They've been there since the beginning of time. I doubt they'll change.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 1,140
Joined: 2005.07
Post: #8
I especially hate the search limit when you notice you made a typo right after you hit enter, and have to do something else in the meantime just to wait for it to time out.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: 2003.01
Post: #9
I spend 40% of my day waiting for the 60 seconds to pass.

©h€ck øut µy stuƒƒ åt ragdollsoft.com
New game in development Rubber Ninjas - Mac Games Downloads
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 771
Joined: 2003.04
Post: #10
I've just seen this thread (I was a bit busy - anyone knows what they were saying? I think I walked across while they where trying to take a picture Rasp )

Anyway, I just sent an email to Carlos, but in case anyone here has access to the forum back-end, here is what needs to be changed:

Code:
<pre class="alt2" dir="ltr" style="
        margin: 0px;
        padding: 6px;
        border: 1px inset;
        width: 500px;
        height: 98px;
        text-align: left;
        overflow: auto">

Should be:
Code:
<pre class="alt2" dir="ltr" style="
        margin: 0px;
        padding: 6px;
        border: 1px inset;
        min-width: 400px;
        max-width: 800px;
        max-height: 600px;
        text-align: left;
        overflow: auto">

The specific values can be tweaked of course - those seem to look ok at 1280x800 (MacBook), particularly the max-height, to avoid double-scrolling. It could be a bit smaller too, perhaps 550px or even 500.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 3,574
Joined: 2003.06
Post: #11
PowerMacX Wrote:I've just seen this thread (I was a bit busy - anyone knows what they were saying? I think I walked across while they where trying to take a picture Rasp )

Hah! Cool! Looks like the statue outside my front door: Mt. Cristo Rey (random google) [edit] I'm not ignorant of Cristo Redentor. Just trying to pipe up about our local mini-version. [/edit]

I think you helped Carlos rid us of the evil code boxes last time if I remember correctly. Thank you again! Smile
Quote this message in a reply
Founder
Posts: 1,138
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #12
This problem occurs because of the following:
1) Forum software needs updating (ie security holes, etc) So I update.
2) Each forum update will usually require an update to the forum theme, which contains dozens and dozens of templates.
3) Updating process overwrites old templates
4) I forget all the custom "mods" that we have here to keep the masses happy
Rasp

Anyhow, thanks Ignacio,

Carlos A. Camacho,
Founder
iDevGames
Quote this message in a reply
Founder
Posts: 1,138
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #13
>And the pointless 60 second search limit...
That's there to reduce the load on the server. A large forum run on a dedicated server might not need it, but since we run on a VPS we do.

Carlos A. Camacho,
Founder
iDevGames
Quote this message in a reply
⌘-R in Chief
Posts: 1,258
Joined: 2002.05
Post: #14
Either way I'm going to have to search....... What's the difference if it's now or 60 seconds from now?
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 592
Joined: 2002.12
Post: #15
Carlos Camacho Wrote:3) Updating process overwrites old templates

I am assuming you follow the recommend procedure of backing up the system before updating so can you not just look at the previous version and apply the fixes?
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply