Processing ?'s

Apprentice
Hello,

Below is a post I left on the Processing Forum which doesn't seem to get as much traffic as this one.
Can anyone help me figure this out?
Thanks for your help,
d ward

I’m new to this forum. Someone at the idevgames forum suggested I try Processing as a programming tool. Â*

Just a quick intro: I’m a teacher in Iowa and have been using Metal BASIC with my students and to develop lesson specific software. Â*However, with newer OSX machines the graphic elements no longer work properly, thus the search for a new programming tool.

I have studied programming (Pascal), but never worked witih object oriented programming.
I’m having some trouble understanding how to set up subroutines, how global and local variables work, how to pass variables to subroutines etc.

If someone would be willing to help me out with this I would really appreciate it.

Here’s some code I’ve been playing with for a statistics program where kids try to find the percentages of colors of M and Ms in a bag.

I’d like to know how to break it up into subroutines.

Thanks for you time and any help you can give me,
Dennis Ward
Tri-County School
Thornburg, IA

size (800,600);

//The graphics below are in my data folder
//I want the array MandMs to be used globally or be
//passed to subroutines that need it.

PImage Green,Yellow,Red,Blue,Brown,Check;
Red = loadImage("Red.jpg");
Green = loadImage("Green.jpg");
Blue = loadImage("Blue.jpg");
Brown = loadImage("Brown.jpg");
Yellow = loadImage("Yellow.jpg");
Check = loadImage("Check.jpg");
PImage[] MandMs = new PImage[7];
MandMs[1]=Red;
MandMs[2]=Green;
MandMs[3]=Blue;
MandMs[4]=Brown;
MandMs[5]=Yellow;
MandMs[6]=Check;

//I want this to be a subroutine that has access to the array MandMs

Â*for(int i=0; i<800; i=i+50) {
Â*for(int j=0; j<600; j=j+50){
Â* Â*int m = round(random(4))+1;
Â*image(MandMs[m], i, j);
Â*}
}
Quote this message in a reply