OpenGL Isometric Tile Engine

Stalin55
Unregistered

First of all, I'm not very experienced with OpenGL but I have enough basic knowledge of it to find my way around and figure out how to do stuff. Secondly I have a lot of experience programming 2d isometric tile engines. I am looking into the possibility of creating a 2d isometric engine(much like Diablo) with OpenGl, but I'm not quite sure which is the most practical and efficient way to go about doing it. Can anyone give me a somewhat detailed description of the best for creating a 2d isometric tile engine with OpenGL?
Quote this message in a reply
Stalin55
Unregistered

I was just fooling with texturing quads (each quad and texture map is 80x40 pixels) using pre-rendered isometric tile bitmaps (2:1 ratio) as seen in a mock bitmap image below...

....and I guess because the texture image isn't perfectly square OpenGL is not letting me apply the texture, is there some way around this (or perhaps this is the wrong method all together)?
Luminary
Put your tiles in textures and draw them on quads. I'd be tempted to actually use a 3D world and an isometric projection rather than do everything with bitmaps, but you could go either way. If you go the bitmap route, you may need to turn on alpha testing to get things to draw correctly.
Luminary
Textures in OpenGL must have power-of-two dimensions (eg. 128x64), unless you use the (ARB|EXT|NV)_texture_rectangle extension. The extension is available on all hardware newer than the Rage 128.
Stalin55
Unregistered

How do do transparent textures where the white pixels are transparent?
Luminary
You don't; you do transparent textures where the transparent pixels are transparent.
Stalin55
Unregistered

How exactly do I do that?
Luminary
Using alpha testing and/or blending.
Stalin55
Unregistered