Realistic MMO Research!

Nibbie
Hello, firstly after reading some guides on here i understand this thread is probably common and wont be well received however i have some questions regarding the prep-work and the potential of an idea i have had for a MMO.

I am beginning to flesh out substantial game play details for my MMO idea and already have some very strong information. I have a lot of base programming background from advanced PHP and currently studying Java at University. I have also studied C++ for a year before changing to my current course. If my project was to take off i would be drastically improving my C++ experience and knowledge.

Anyway on to my questions. My idea is based on a current film franchise, with regards to gaining rights to use their intellectual property what is the best method of heading forward? Originally i was planning on compiling a portfolio of my game design and presenting this to some form of related contact within the films franchise. Would this be the best course of action? And am i able to copyright my idea even though it is based on an already copyrighted franchise?
Quote this message in a reply
I can't exactly tell but it sounds like you're toying with the idea of creating this game yourself or with a self-assembled team, if you are you should totally forget about it.

No reputable film studio would simply hand over an ip license to a developer with a good, or even great design doc.

And no, you couldn't copyright something infringing directly upon someone else's ip, a non-parodying game design would not be covered under fair use and any claim you made to a copyright would be invalid.
Nibbie
No i wasn't planning on creating the game myself. I would probably attempt to enlist a more reputable games design company to do the main part of the work however with the hope of me being a part of the team they put together.