Newbie question: Cocoa and Carbon - which for what and how to get started?

BliTz
Unregistered

Hey!
This is my first post here. I'm a computer science student and would like to get started on how to develop games. I have always been interested in that, but I can't basically draw so I was always hesitating in making the big jump. A friend of mine told me, because I'm really good at calculus (3d, vectorial) that I should be thinking about that. But again, I can't draw; my imagination is bad :-( But I would love to develop a game and apply my 3d maths skills Grin

So, here are my skills: I can code in C and Java (I did a tic-tac-toe game and a little command-line videostore program where you rent movies, search for titles...) and understand the fundamentals of C++ and Objective-C. I was wondering, from a game developer point of view, which of Carbon or Cocoa is the best to learn? I think, correct me if I'm wrong, but Carbon can be used with C++, and Cocoa with Objective-C.

I would also like to know how I can get started. In order to build a graphical game, I'll have to learn OpenGL I guess. Which of Carbon or Cocoa offers the best support? I'm a poor student so I don't have a lot of money to spend. I quickly browsed the NeHe tutorials and I can't figure out what goes wrong at lesson 1 :S So I'm a bit lost Sad I would like to know where I should be spending my time: Cocoa, Carbon, OpenGL? And how, what kind of project should I be trying to do?

Thanks!!
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
I'd suggest neither Carbon nor Cocoa, from where you are. GLUT will get you up and running quickly, though you'll need to switch away later. SDL is good for longer, but harder to get started in. Either way, you'll need to learn OpenGL.

http://onesadcookie.com/Tutorials (intro to GLUT, written for an older version of Xcode but most is still the same).
BliTz
Unregistered