Objective-C++ what goes where?

I finally got around to opening back up XCode to work on personal projects. This time around I thought I might make a small 3D engine.Wacko

Anyhow, I've been playing around with Objective-C++ and I'd like to get everyone's take on pros and cons of using what where. So far, I've tried to separate out classes as follows:
Vector, Matrix, Vertex, etc. as C++ structs.
View, Scene, Renderer, Models, etc as Objective-C classes.
And, I also have some weird Objective-C++ wrapper classes to get it all to talk nice.

My aim is to keep all the basic geometry fast and free of messaging and class overhead. Anything that fits into the MVC pieces of the app are Objective-C or Objective-C++ (basically no data/geometry). Now, this is my first real attempt to mix C++ and Objective-C and it's been pretty trying. And with respect to C++, yes I'm a total noob.

Before I move forward though, I want to know: Are there any big gotchas coming my way with my current course of action? Is there a better way to apply the Objective-C/C++ to my classes? Am I doing anything unnecessarily (wrt class design/coding)? Do I even need the C++ parts?

So far I've got a rudimentary .obj loader and renderer built in Objective-C. Totally un-optimized immediate mode (begin/end on each poly!LOL) 117fps for 1200 polys on my MBP. Took about 4 hours of my weekend. Encouraging results so far.

---Kelvin--
15.4" MacBook Pro revA
1.83GHz/2GB/250GB
Quote this message in a reply
Oldtimer
The only thing that I can say that you will be frustrated by is the compile times for Obj-C++ - roughly three times longer than the other languages. Now, on an MBP that might not be a problem. Wink