Writing the user interface for Lugaru 2

Parsap
Unregistered

So, David (my twin brother) enlisted me to write the UI engine for Phoenix, aka Lugaru 2. I prototyped the system using REALbasic, carefully abstracting the code for drawing pictures and such. You can check it out here: http://blog.wolfire.com/?p=46

Now for the real work: porting this system to SDL/OpenGL. I don't really know much more than the basics of OpenGL and I have never used SDL before. Before I dive in, I want to make sure that I am doing this right. I have a few questions about the SDL/OpenGL way to do things as opposed to REALbasic's.

a) In RB, all of my files have their mask and base image stored separately and are combined in code. I am told that this is not necessary with SDL and can load PNGs straight up. Is that the best way to do it?

b) In RB, all of my images are drawn to 'Pictures'. I'm guessing that in OpenGL, I would draw to textures. Is it a bad idea to have a texture for each control, which are then drawn into another texture representing the window, which is then drawn into a global texture representing the screen? Am I totally offbase?

c) SDL seems to have a lot of drawing commands. Are these worth using, or should I skip that and directly use OpenGL?
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
a) yes.
b) that's one way to go.
c) not worth using.
Parsap Wrote:b) In RB, all of my images are drawn to 'Pictures'. I'm guessing that in OpenGL, I would draw to textures. Is it a bad idea to have a texture for each control, which are then drawn into another texture representing the window, which is then drawn into a global texture representing the screen? Am I totally offbase?

This is not the way that I, personally would do it. I would advise storing each interface graphic as a texture, and then rather than drawing all the elements onto another texture, just draw each element as a polygon.

This is how I did it in Argonaut, more or less:

[Image: argo-weapons.jpg]