Very stupid question about Python on OS X

Durandal
Unregistered

Hey all,

I started recently as a complete newbie to programming and have been slowly teaching myself Python. I recently bought a new MacBook and, of course, I wanted to get Python up and running on it. I have the latest version of OS X and updated Python to the latest build, but when I write a script and save it with the .py extension and try and launch it, I'm get hit with a prompt that says:

"Select Python source or applet"

And it wants me to browse until I find what it's looking for and select it. The only problem is, I have no idea exactly *what* it wants me to find. I know this is probably a really silly newbie question, but I really want to figure it out so I can code on my MacBook as well as on my windows box.

Thanks so much!

-D
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
open Terminal,
cd into the folder the script is in
python script.py

Sir, e^iπ + 1 = 0, hence God exists; reply!
Sage
How are you trying to run it? Through some sort of IDE or someting? That would be helpful to know.

Scott Lembcke - Howling Moon Software
Author of Chipmunk Physics - A fast and simple rigid body physics library in C.
Durandal
Unregistered

Skorche Wrote:How are you trying to run it? Through some sort of IDE or someting? That would be helpful to know.

Well, I write all my code in WingIDE, both on my PC and on my MacBook. As far as *running* it is concerned, I'm trying to run it by double-clicking the icon on my desktop instead of loading it into an IDE. Again, you're dealing with someone who claims basic ignorance in this arena - all I know is that it works on my PC when I run a .py script from my desktop and on my MacBook I get that prompt. I'm sure it's a really simple thing I'm missing, I just don't know what it is and I can't find any information on it.
Luminary
You wouldn't normally run a python script from the GUI on Mac OS X. Follow unknown's instructions above.
Durandal
Unregistered