Allocated int's versus non allocated int's?

Jones
Unregistered

If I malloc'd all my ints and then freed them at the end of my functions, would I get a performance boost compared to just declaring them normally, and leaving them lying around (is there a way to free an int that has not been malloc'd), once the function has executed?
Quote this message in a reply
I'm no expert, but I believe the answer would be no. No performance boost what-so-ever. You might free up 2 bytes (1 byte? I'm too lazy to look it up) of memory, but I hardly think that is worth it.
Luminary
You will get a massive performance penalty. malloc() is expensive, free() ain't cheap, memory loads and stores ain't cheap. You'd just be doing a whole lot of work you don't need to.
Sage
I think that you don't quite understand the difference between stack and heap memory yet.

(This glosses over some of the details, but you should get the general idea)

When your program runs, it uses a data structure called a stack to store the variables in your functions. Space is always added/removed from the end of the stack (thus the name). The basic idea is that when you call a function, it extends the stack by the amount of space needed for your functions variables. When the function exits, the stack shrinks by the same amount. This is really straightforward to do. The downside is that the data disappears after your function exits, and cannot be resized once it is created.