Getting started with my iPhone Game

Apprentice
I am desperate for some help. I am very new at programming in general and have been studying Objective-C 2.0 books for weeks now and have watched a ton of videos and tutorials on how to program for the iPhone. I am signed up with Apple and have downloaded all the necessary SDK tools that I need and am trying to build a game. I want to start out easy—in the game I want to be able to fire a missile or a bullet at something just by touching it on the screen, like when an enemy appears I can touch it, which then fires at it. I just need some idea of code to get me off on the right track.

PLEASE HELP ME!

Any code samples or ideas would be a huge help.
I also need to know what I should use for some basic animation.—Core Animation, OpenGL, Quartz, or what do you think would be a good starting point for me?

PLEASE HELP ME!

Thank you very much!
Quote this message in a reply
You could check out http://www.71squared.com which hosts video tutorials on starting game development on the iPhone.

Mike

iPhone Game Development Blog - 71Squared
Apprentice
Is this the "Mike" from 71Squared? THANK YOU FOR RESPONDING! I have been watching a bunch of those tutorials from http://www.71squared.com. My problem is that since I am new at this my thought was to start out easy just to get the concept of how some things work. OpenGL might be a bit much for me right now. Do you have any example code I could see on implementing the touch event I described earlier?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Please be patient with me.
Yes, that's me :o)

If you check out Tutorial 11, it shows you how to implement a simple joypad to control your ship or character. That tutorial does not use OpenGL at all just UIImage etc so it should be really simple to follow and get you started on some basics. I am planning to do some more tutorials that don't use OpenGL later, its just finding the time.

Mike

iPhone Game Development Blog - 71Squared
Apprentice