Dreaded noob questions: OpenGL in a Cocoa App

5thPeriodProductions
Unregistered

The documentation on Apple's ADC reference site is a bit old in terms of implementing OpenGL in a Cocoa app. It assumes the use of ProjectBuilder and, as such, an older version of OS X. While I'm sure most of the information is revelant, I still have a question or two.

I'm using Xcode version 2.2.1 and Interface Builder version 2.5.3 on Mac OS X 10.4.6. (On a PPC Mac, if that even matters.)

If I want to add an NSOpenGLView do I have to make a custom subclass as in the example found on "Open GL Programming?"

And, I assume all the normal Cocoa interface elements can interact with said view? For example, a slider (NSSlider) to increase or decrease the number of divisions of a triangle (tessellation)?

I'm just getting started with OpenGL, and I'll be sticking to 2D until I'm comfortable with making the move to the wide world of 3D. So, bear with me and my silly questions... On the bright side, maybe this thread can help other newbies.
Quote this message in a reply
- Generally speaking, the older stuff that uses Project Builder works just fine with Xcode. The Interface Builder differences between versions usually aren't a big deal either, but as a developer you'll constantly be challenged to `keep up', so learning how to extrapolate is a good thing.

- You can hook Cocoa interface elements up to *anything*, so yes, you can use cocoa `whatever' to control OpenGL `whatever' -- easily.