Dx counterparts

LWStrike
Unregistered

Hello, i am new to mac.

I would like to know what the directX counterpart of mac. What API do i use to get input, draw video (in windowed and fullscreen) and play sound. I rather learn what OS X uses nativly right now instead of a lib like SDL which hides and mixes all the features from you.

First thing i want to do is get my USB joypad working. Any link to sample code would be nice too but all i need is the API name to look up.
Quote this message in a reply
OpenGL is the counterpart to Direct3D. You'll want to use OpenAL for audio. You'll be looking to the HID manager for specific USB input like for a gamepad. Be warned however, the HID manager is a disaster with plenty of buginess, and is not for the timid to learn how to use; not impossible, but not fun either. I should also note that there isn't anything wrong with using SDL - it is very popular around here. If you still want to avoid using SDL or GLUT, you will have to use a system API as well - either Carbon or Cocoa. I would venture to guess that the majority of newcomers estimate that since Carbon is more like Windows API they go that route. However, I would say that the majority of the developers here use Cocoa, which is the preferred API for all of Apple's new whiz-bang interface stuff. It is very nice to work with, and I highly recommend it, but it is based on Objective-C, so you'll have to spend a week or two learning to get into it. It is well worth the effort however. The absolute quickest way to get up and running with OpenGL graphics and basic input on the Mac is GLUT. You can also check out the Carbon or Cocoa NeHe ports at http://nehe.gamedev.net/. Good luck!
LWStrike
Unregistered

Since OpenAL is cross platfrom i assume it is using a MacOSX API.
HID looks kind of nasty, i'll give it a try though. I'll probally be messing with hardware sooner or later.