Newbie Seeks Advice

Salad
Unregistered

Hi everyone! I'm going to start developing a game idea I have for the Mac and I would like to ask for your advice about which language to develop it in.

I'm a bit of a newbie, so go easy Wink Sorry if these questions are confusing in anyway- I'll try to be as clear as possible...

Firstly, I do have a certain knowledge of programming. In general, I understand the basic concepts like variables, arrays, functions, loops, branching code etc. And I have also used RealBasic to make a couple of apps and a game or two. Language-wise, I know a bit of php and javascript... I'm no expert but I know enough to tinker and hack things together.

I'm not sure exactly what my question is (sorry)... I just need a little advice about which direction to go in before I invest a lot of time in this project.

Basically, I'm not sure which language to use. I'm not sure whether I should go for something that is designed to make games or go for a 'real' programming scenario like Cocoa/Objective C.

To very briefly sum up my experience with games-oriented environments:

Realbasic was great for getting things up and running quickly but eventually it became increasingly apparent that it wasn't really designed for making games. There's nothing wrong with that, but it's limitations for gaming became clear.

I recently bought Torque2D and I don't think it's the thing for me. It certainly wasn't what I expected. It seemed as if it was somewhere between an environment with a full blown 'games made easy' GUI and a more 'nuts-and-bolts' script files-resources-compile scenario.

So then I thought, well if I'm going to spend time getting my head around a language I might as well finally take the plunge and learn a 'real' language and do everything from the ground up.