Shaders for OpenGL 1.5?

Sage
Can shaders be created for OpenGL 1.5? I've been looking around but it all seems to be for GLSL which, unless I'm wrong, is for OpenGL 2.0. Any pointers to websites that can give me a good introduction to shaders? I've never tried using them before but they look fun. I'm using a PowerBook G4 with a 64mb Radeon 9700 and a PC with an ATi X800XL. I'm trying to be cross platform with everything I do in case that does change anything.Thanks.
Quote this message in a reply
Both assembly shaders and GLSL shaders are available in OpenGL 1.5 through extensions. However, GLSL shaders are only available on Mac OS X 10.4.3 and higher, but assembly shaders are available on OS X 10.2.8 and higher.

AFAIK, the only difference between OpenGL 1.5 and OpenGL 2.0 is more of the extensions became part of the core. Correct my if I'm wrong, though.
Sage
That's good to know. Too bad about the GLSL. I've read about Cg shaders. Are those available for OpenGL 1.5 as well? I'm developing using Mac OS X 10.3.9 right now so that's sort of my lowest supported system for the time being.

Any links to getting started with these shaders? I could do assembly, though it sounds quite complex.
I'm not sure about Cg shaders. I think they're only for NVidia cards, though. However, I believe that you can compile them into assembly shaders. You'll have to look it up.
Luminary
The "version" of OpenGL is completely irrelevant. Look at the extensions string.

Cg is a hack which compiles to ARB_vertex_program and ARB_fragment_program.

GLSL requires ARB_shader_objects, ARB_vertex_shader, ARB_fragment_shader and ARB_shading_language_100.

Note that GLSL is actually more powerful than Cg, since it can access the dynamic branching and looping capabilities of the Radeon X1xxx cards.
Sage
Small clarifications:

GLSL is available on 10.4.0, if you use the software renderer.
GLSL is hardware accelerated as of 10.4.3.