Question about gametutorials

Xentery
Unregistered

Hi guys, I an new to the whole game development scene.
I do have prior PHP programming experience. I have been developing web applications with PHP for about 3 years now. I recently picked up the C++ Primer PLus (5th ed.) and have been dabbling around making simple CLI based programs.
The most advanced one would have to be a number guessing game, where the user specifies the number range. A desired number is randomly generated and the program tells the user wether their guess is higher or lower than the desired number. The amount of guesses is recorded, and once the user guesses the correct number they are given a congrats message and are put into a category. The categories are kind of silly, I just threw them in there for a laugh. (ex. less than 3 guesses, user is genious, ... more than 50 guesses, user is rather dull.)

Anywhoo, I had no clue how to go about developing programs with a GUI, so I did a bit or research and stumbled upon OpenGL as well as SDL.

I aslo found this site:

http://www.gametutorials.com

Sadly the tutorials are suited for a Windows environment. Does anyone have experience with this site's products, or does anyone know of a similar site that is good for the Mac environment. The video tutorials offered by GameTutorials are enticing, and I would prefer to have a CD that I can pop into my iBook instead of slithering my way around webpages.

Thanks in advance for any useful posts. Smile
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
I learned OpenGL from that site back when the tutorials were all free (sadly they have gone commercial). I do think they are very good at teaching you how to start off in OpenGL. They may have more advanced tutorials now, but I know that the first ten or so provided a nice solid grounding to start from with OpenGL.
Xentery
Unregistered

Thanks, I think that I will pick it up and see what I can learn
I am sure that eventhough it is meant for windows, I can find