Salary survey

Founder
Yesterday, I had a "review" at my new job. It's my second review. At the first review, I was told of my weak points, and asked to improve them. If I couldn't, I would be let go. At yesterday's review, the good news was that my contract was extended to next year. However, the president said that due to my "output/level", my salary would be re-adjusted.

Salaries are reviewed once a year it seems, and increases will be based on my "output power." Anyways, the decrease is $600 a month. That brings me to "aroundish" $2,000 a month, which is 1/2 of my last job at the electric company (where I worked at for 7 years.) I do realize that figure would be a dream job to many people around the world.

I'm now thinking of what I should do. On one hand, I feel that at 36, I should be at a much higher salary (based on salary.com, what my friends make, what I want in life, etc.) I should also be in management or within reach of it. (I was a manager at age 22 in the US). At my present job, management is impossible because (a) there is only one position to move into (b) that guy won't EVER leave because no one else will hire him © me not being Japanese (ie I would need to be 100% fluent in speaking and writing -- an impossible task.)

Skill wise, I moved from marketing (which was mostly B.S.) to web design now. (ie mockups in Photoshop, slicing, HTML). The company I work at doesn't do dynamic sites -- all static, as they outsourced any dynamic stuff. I feel I am the "key" into getting them into dynamic sites and into the year "2006." Wink Heck, I had to explain a simple benefit of using a short PHP snippet to display the current year for a copyright tag, rather than have the staff update dozens of pages by hand! So, while I might make them 500% more productive, and bring their designs up a couple of notches, they seem to be satisfied with the "status quo."