Easy platform for computer board game

Nibbie
Hi everyone. I am a newbie in programming. I have basically zero programming experience. I would like to get started in programming. The first significant project I have in mind is a turn-based board game, and I am wondering what language would be best suited for this task.

Here's the general concept of the game. The board consists of maybe 20 spaces that are in a square, sort of like the Monopoly layout, except that you can move in either direction. You roll a 6-sided die, and get to choose which way to go. Once you land on the square, you will have en encounter - it might be an enemy you have to fight to gain experience, it might be an item you get to pick up, a unique event that affects your character, etc. Your character will have stats, say, Strength, Intelligence, Stamina, etc., and those will be modified as you play the game.

I don't envision the game having any complicated animation - maybe a die rolling or something like that, but basically it would just be an electronic boardgame so I don't need anything beyond a couple of simple animations.

Does anybody have any suggestions on where to start? I have the book "Programming in Objective-C" by Steven G. Kochan (it appears to be the first edition). I am programming on a MacBook.

I'd eventually like to get involved in iPhone programming, but I don't have an iPhone yet and in any event I figure I should learn more fundamentals before turning to the iPhone.

Thanks for any suggestions or insight you can offer.
Quote this message in a reply
We recently had a somewhat lengthy discussion about approaches that newbies could take to game dev on the Mac and iPhone which you might be interested in reading.
Nibbie
Thanks, I did notice that thread, and it contains some helpful information. My main interest is computerized board games, and I guess I am wondering if that would influence whether I should start out by learning C versus Objective-C (or something else).