Game preference type dialog

Apprentice
K, I'm new to OpenGL and have only been part way through the NeHe tutorials. Couple questions that I can't seem to find answers to or need my hunches confirmed. I think some of these can be solved by using Cocoa's windows and stuff (similar to BitRacer), but I'd like to stick to all OpenGL for now.

0. If I want to have a game preferences dialog/screen and it has buttons for various things, do I need to do the button as a quad and then texture it?

1. If #1 is correct (use quads), how does one do rounded buttons? If I have just a single quad with a rounded button texture on it, won't the user be able to click the corner of the quad that's in the texture's transparent area?

2. Is there some easy way to do the mouse over/click? I'm think I would use the selection/pick stuff.

3. Is there a library or something that handles this stuff? Or maybe a demo that just draws buttons and stuff?

4. Does putting a text string in a given font/size on the screen have to be so hard?
Quote this message in a reply
0. That is one way to do it, it happens to be the easiest way in an all opengl application.

1. Rounded buttons are done by using blending. You draw a quad, and use a texture with an alpha mask. For example, if you wanted a red circlular button, you'd make a 32x32 texture all red, with an alpha mask of a black circle on a white background.

2. Generally speaking, most of you're button drawing will be 2D, using ortho projection. That means you're projection matrix is not going to truly have a z coordinate, so you can just use screen coordinates for that. Remember that OpenGL uses 0,0 to define the bottom left corner, as opposed to OSX's top-left orientation.

3. There are plenty of libraries to do this. Just recently, I was using FLTK(http://www.fltk.org) as part of a class project. It's ugly, but it gets the job done. Has a very windowsy look.