Anyone interested - quake 1 in Doom 3 engine

tinbox
Unregistered

Hello guys
1. I'm not a programmer Smile
2. I have a feeling you probably get this kind of post a lot. I came across a little project through the ZBrush forums called QuakeRemix which involves getting Quake1 up and running in Doom3. I like what the artist is doing regarding updating the models (in ZBrush) and thought it would be cool to try it out when done, so I asked on their forums whether it would work in Doom 3 for Mac Os X. He seems willing to do the port if he can get hold of a mac compiler or else pass the source to someone else who would be willing to help. Would anyone be interested in doing this?

Link:
http://quakeremix.com/modules.php?name=F...ic&p=26#26

Thanks for reading
tinbox
Quote this message in a reply
Oldtimer
Spontaneously I would say that I'm not sure the source to the Mac port is available - that's owned by Aspyr. But I don't know. Smile
Sage
tinbox Wrote:He seems willing to do the port if he can get hold of a mac compiler...
Let him know that Xcode is 100% free. He can get a copy at http://developer.apple.com. He just has to register (also free) and then he'll have access to downloading it.
tinbox
Unregistered

Thanks for the replies guys.
I was presuming he also meant getting his hands on a mac or getting someone who has a mac to help out Smile I also presumed Quake 1 code was open source now?
Thanks
tinbox
Oldtimer
Quake 1, yes. But not the Mac port of Doom 3, but hell, what do I know? Smile
I highly doubt Doom 3 source code is open source, since the game is still for sale, and is still being licensed by id. I suppose its possible to get Quake 1 ported to Doom3 engine by way of mod tools, which will be found on the PC only and should move over to Mac Doom 3 with a simple installation of content only. In theory thats how it should work.

Doom 3 SDK