Taking the next big step... into 3D

This site has always steered me in the right direction. I learned about
SDL, GLUT, OpenAL, OpenGL from this site and went from
pixmaps and GWorlds on OS 9, to texel maps and textures in OpenGL
on Tiger. And have done alot of programming (with 2D) in the
above technologies.

Now I'm interested in getting into 3D. Assume I'm a complete Newbie;
because I am. My brain always turned off any 3D stuff because the
above was enough without piling anymore on.

So, can somebody give me a brief lay of the land. What are the main
formats? Any standards? Is there alot more competing technologies than say
DirectDraw of OpenGL? Does each game company or console manufacturing have their own technology and or tools? Just a brief outline is all I need. I'll google it from there.

thanks.
Quote this message in a reply
For computers at least, you will need to use OpenGL or, if you're making something for Windows, also Direct3D. That's pretty much it. I believe some of the consoles have different libraries, but for the computer that's where you stand for hardware accelerated APIs. I'm sure there are a few other APIs out there, but unless they're layered on OpenGL or Direct3D, it won't be hardware accelerated and therefore extremely slow.

Of course, if you're using OpenGL for 2D, why not use it for 3D? That's its main focus, and why not already do what you know? Basically, for OpenGL, the only real difference is that you add a third dimension to your objects. Be careful, though, because you can't have quads and polygons with vertices on different planes. (for the same quad or comment) Just read some tutorials and you should be fine.
Gottcha, maybe I need to be rephrase that. I hear the term "model" quite abit
in 3D programming. In fact, the current iDev home page has a big article about
some open source modeling application. Granted openGL can give you the
"framework" for displaying and controlling 3D objects, but just like you need