Language Advice for a Newbie with Experience in Higher-Level Languages

DevPurkayastha
Unregistered

Hi! I'm thinking about getting into game development, but I worry that my preferences in languages & development may be a bit of a barrier. I'm currently a Web Developer working in Java, but I've also been doing other web-based work in Ruby, and am liking that better (as I find Java a rather heavy language). I like developing in environments where I can avoid:
  • mysterious compile time problems with dependencies
  • mysterious hardware malfeasance
  • low-level languages like C/C++ (I seem to prefer more abstracted ones)

I've seem some mention of game programming in Ruby and Python, which gives me a good deal of hope! (I also found a book, Agile GUI Development with QtRuby , that gives me hope.

So, questions I have:
  • Will some of my twitchy preferences (as mention above) simply make me not cut out for this line of development? (I can accept that, if that's likely the case.)
  • Can the Python/Ruby route bear fruit for me? What limitations will it present?
  • Where does Objective-C fall on this scale?

And if there are better links elsewhere / in previous threads, they're much appreciated! Thanks.
Quote this message in a reply
Objective-C would be lumped in with C and C++ in your view of the world.

It is entirely possible to write decent games with Python and Ruby. You might not be making a Quake or DOOM 3 with them but current computer speeds and the like you could easily develop a good enough sim or side scroller without too much problem.

Qt is a User Interface (plus data types and other stuff) library. Not exactly geared to game development but more for application development. Not to say that it can't be used in game development but knowing it's main focus may be beneficial.

SDL may be a library that you might consider seeing that there are bolt ons for Python to use SDL. (I think Ruby has a bolt on as well but my knowledge of Ruby stuff is limited.)