GLUT for dim3, Should I be Talked out of It?

Still trying to figure out how I want to make dim3 cross platform, or at least start it. There are things about SDL that bug me, so I was looking into GLUT. I am an expert in neither of them (always used the system to calls for these.)

Anybody want to give me the quick run down of pros and cons? GLUT seems quiet a bit lighter and cleaner, but obviously isn't centered totally on maxing speed (like SDL is.) This is, of course, an educated guess Smile

Any help would be appreciated.

I assume most of glut is supported in windows/linux.

[>] Brian
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
speed isn't an issue, but things like keyboard, mouse-look, resolution switching, etc. would be killers for Dim3.

* you can't distinguish between the number keys and the keypad
* you can't tell that 4 and $ (or £, or whatever, depending on keyboard layout) are from the same key, just with different modifiers
* you can't detect modifier key presses in isolation
* although you can use glutWarpPointer to implement mouse look on most platforms, it doesn't work without making an additional mac-specific call on Mac OS X
* glutLeaveGameMode doesn't work on Mac OS X
* there's no way to get a list of supported video resolutions
OneSadCookie Wrote:speed isn't an issue, but things like keyboard, mouse-look, resolution switching, etc. would be killers for Dim3.

* you can't distinguish between the number keys and the keypad
* you can't tell that 4 and $ (or £, or whatever, depending on keyboard layout) are from the same key, just with different modifiers
* you can't detect modifier key presses in isolation
* although you can use glutWarpPointer to implement mouse look on most platforms, it doesn't work without making an additional mac-specific call on Mac OS X
* glutLeaveGameMode doesn't work on Mac OS X
* there's no way to get a list of supported video resolutions

I'm just not making any headway anywhere! Sad

[>] Brian
Luminary