*.ma to *.3ds

y4r0ze
Unregistered
 
Post: #1
I've tried a few 3d programs för OSX, and now i'm using Modo. I realy like it and it's interface..=)
But, the problem is that Modo are using *.ma. The same format that Maya are using, and Unity needs *.3ds. Does someone know a program for OSX that can converts the *.ma format to *.3ds format so i can use my stuff it in Unity?
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #2
Try exporting LWO from Modo, then import that into Blender, and use Unity's .blend integration.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 1,562
Joined: 2003.10
Post: #3
y4r0ze Wrote:för

How on earth did those umlauts get there?
Quote this message in a reply
y4r0ze
Unregistered
 
Post: #4
Frank.C: Thx. I'll try that...! =)

ThemsAllTook: Oh, i'm Swedish and using a Swedish keyboard. The Swedish word for "for" is "för"...Wink
Typed wrong...åäö...=D All three are Swedish letters...
Quote this message in a reply
y4r0ze
Unregistered
 
Post: #5
Doesn't work...=(
I've saved the file as *.obj instead and then imported in Blender, that works. BUT when i'm starting Unity and it tried to load the file i just get a small "blender" square and then Unity crashes. =(
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 133
Joined: 2008.05
Post: #6
There is a Maya plug-in that will export files in FBX format, which is basically a 3d file that holds absolutely everything you could possibly want in a 3d file, from there Alias has a free program called FbxConverter whcih will turn a fbx file into a 3ds file.

I don't know if Modo supports .fbx, but most applications now should start supporting it, and since it supports .ma/.mb, you might have some luck.
Quote this message in a reply
y4r0ze
Unregistered
 
Post: #7
Looks like Modo doesn't support export to FBX...and blender doesn't support it either...=(
Btw...Modo does use Lightwave format too...Wink
Quote this message in a reply
Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: 2005.07
Post: #8
You might want to check this thread:

http://otee.dk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=361&highlight=modo

The gist is that Unity can import .ma and .mb filed directly provided that you have Maya installed. You do not need a Maya license on the machine.

This is because we use Maya batch mode which doesn't require a license.

Regards,

d.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #9
y4r0ze Wrote:... when i'm starting Unity and it tried to load the file i just get a small "blender" square and then Unity crashes. =(
If Unity crashes outright I'd suggest submitting a bug report to the Unity guys, and include the offending .blend file.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: 2004.07
Post: #10
Being the guy who made Unity's Blender import, I'd really like to see the file that crashes Unity. Please use the small bug reporting app that lies next to Unity & attach the blender file

TIA,

Nicholas Francis
http://www.otee.dk
Quote this message in a reply
y4r0ze
Unregistered
 
Post: #11
Wiee, now the problem is fixed! =)
But, i couldn't get the crash thing again, or should i say that i couldn't import my stuff into blender again? ;-)
It's probably me that doing something wrong, i've never used blender before realy...was years since last time so...

Anyway, i've solved the problem by first export the model from Modo (*.obj) and then import it into Wings (that i've worked with more then Blender). And, from Wings i could export it to *.3ds. Now things works great, but i've lost 3days on my trial version...=P
Anyway, i from what i've read and looked at this far, and it isn't much realy, i think unity is great. =)
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply