drawRect: is not executed after setNeedsDisplay:YES

Moridin
Unregistered

Hi,

this is my first try at cocoa graphics programming. I have, however, already had a look at DotView and I managed to rewrite it, so that it got to become a kind of painting programm.
This time, I wanted to create a kind of snake game - from scratch. I have put a custom View in my window and created a class MyView for it. Below is the implementation of this class - all methods are also declared in the MyView.h.
The problem is: When I resize the window, drawRect is executed. This is okay. But I have a timer, that calls a method "redrawIt", which does a [self setNeedDisplay:YES]. This method redrawIt is correctly called, but drawRect is not. So i tried it with a button and an action "stepForward", which should make the view redraw itself just one time. It does not.

I have no idea what´s wrong. Please help me!!

P.S.: Of course my class is a subclass of NSView.

Code:
#import "MyView.h"

@implementation MyView

- (id)initWithFrame:(NSRect)frameRect
{
    [super initWithFrame:frameRect];
    snake.x = 5.0;
    snake.y = 5.0;
    radius = 1.0;
    color = [[NSColor redColor] retain];
    direction = 'R';
    return self;
}

- (BOOL)isOpaque {
    return YES;
}

- (void)drawRect:(NSRect)rect
{
    NSLog (@"Drawing...");
    // removed the code - I would be happy if I would just just see the log output
}

- (IBAction)stepForward:(id)sender{
    [self setNeedsDisplay:YES];    
    NSLog(@"Stepping...");
}

- (void)redrawIt{
    NSLog (@"redrawing %@...",self);
}

- (IBAction)start:(id)sender
{
    NSLog (@"Started timer...");
    timer = [[NSTimer scheduledTimerWithTimeInterval:0.2
                                             target:self
                                            selector:@selector(redrawIt)
                                           userInfo:nil
                                            repeats:YES]retain];
}

- (IBAction)stop:(id)sender
{
    [timer invalidate];