Game making tools for the Mac

GamerTech
Unregistered

Hello everyone, I'm new here but i'm not a newbie^^; I'm a mod in several forums and I have some experience into game programming. I have lots of experience with RPG Maker 2003 at the moment for I am working on a game that I hope to finish by new years or so.

I have been thinking about switching to the Mac platform and getting a Powerbook. My only concern is what kinds of Game creation software is available for the Mac OS. I've searched this forum and found one thread similar to my question but I hope to get a more recent answer to this. I've looked in some threads about starting game programming in the Mac platform and it seems like Cocoa is a popular choice. I don't really know where to start looking in this forum to begin reading or getting the very basics of GP (game programming) for the Mac.

I have several interests about entering the Mac world, but really the only thing hesistating me a little is this. I've heard of Coldstone and saw their site, so I hope to hear some advice from you guys.^^

Well that was a little long winded there...anyway any help would be greatly appreciated^^ Nice community you guys have here Rasp

Hope this is in the right section for this question/intro kinda post...
Quote this message in a reply
Coldstone is cold stone dead. I don't think its available for purchase anymore, since its about 3 system upgrades behind the curve.

Unity, dim3, Antiryad GX , and Power Game Factory are four of your mostly non-programmy options at the moment, (search forums, google, mac software download places like versiontracker.com and macupdate.com for info on these)

If you want to get into programming there is also Arcade Engine for Revolution/Dreamcard which is cross platform and very easy to learn, even I understand it.

Then there is always Flash, which is pretty good for small games.
Sage
Well theres plenty, loads in fact.