Game loop and performance

So, I've created a few opengl games and as I'm still fairly new to this, from reading around recently I think I'm not doing my game loop very efficiently.

I've also just made a post about mp3 music in my latest game severly affect performance, I wonder if the two might be related(?)

Here's my current situation:

Code:
//AppDelegate
[glView startAnimation];

//EAGLView
- (void)startAnimation {
    self.animationTimer = [NSTimer scheduledTimerWithTimeInterval:animationInterval target:self selector:@selector(drawView) userInfo:nil repeats:YES];
}

- (void)drawView {
    [EAGLContext setCurrentContext:context];
    glBindFramebufferOES(GL_FRAMEBUFFER_OES, viewFramebuffer);
    glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);

drawScene();

updateGame();

glFlush();
    glBindRenderbufferOES(GL_RENDERBUFFER_OES, viewRenderbuffer);
    [context presentRenderbuffer:GL_RENDERBUFFER_OES];
}

So after reading sacred softwares tutorial on how to handle time based animation etc I'm wondering how best to integrate it. Should I keep the NSTimer and in drawView put the code from the tutorial about seperating game updates the game updates/drawing? Or should I remove the NSTimer all together, and do something else?
Quote this message in a reply
I wonder the same questions.

BTW, do you queue events?
Frank and I both posted some sample code for it in this other thread a while back. I'm using Display Link now on iPhone, which offers a bit better performance, but the timing section is pretty much the same.

I haven't really had any problem rolling with the timer, but there are many who swear by their own loops. I can't recall seeing a single example of an actual implementation of it, only pseudocode and descriptions. The way I had tried it myself didn't really yield much, if any, better performance, so I wouldn't mind seeing a working example posted by someone else who feels they got it down.