Starting with Cocoa/OpenGL

BlueTide
Unregistered

Hi,

I'm just starting to dig into Mac programming, I've done C++ and other languages earlier quite some. Not that I am an expert of any kind, but survive on my own none the less.

Now, I would wish to start developing an application on Mac. I did a few quick ones earlier, with Objective-C and InterfaceBuilder, but this time I would wish to ditch the InteraceBuilder all together.

I did a program like this already, basicly just forming an empty screen, but that involved touching InterfaceBuilder. Is there away of doing such thing with Cocoa straight from the code (and how)? Or have I misunderstood something badly?

All I would want is a really simple template, a single .m file that opens an empty OpenGL fullscreen window.

EDIT: A bit of re-pharisng. Of course, I could save myself a lot by using C++ here. Also, I could just mix Objective C into the code. But I would wish to have services from QuickTime or such when needed as well.
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
You could do it without Interface Builder, but why on earth would you want to? Interface Builder is there to make your life easier. Not using it makes your life harder. I don't see the point.

In any case, all the information you need is in the documentation / Xcode help. In particular, if you wish to pursue this random and foolish path, you'll want to read the NSApplication, NSWindow, NSView, NSOpenGLView and NSOpenGLPixelFormat documentation.
Oldtimer
Honestly, Interface Builder is like candy without the side effects: it's just darn good. (And it improves your health.)

Going the IB route will enable you to do Mac applications that look and behave as they should, plus you get Apple's cool new inventions for free later.
Interface Builder is not some proprietary hack to get the job done, and it's not like these scripting engines that some people use. It practically works the same as if you had done it in code. There is no reason to dump it.
Sage