Is there a good place discussing various engines for a game newbie?

lfrog
Unregistered

I am interested in getting to know more about game development and possible trying my hand at developing a game. I was wondering if there was a site or some other location that gave a comparision of the various "engines" available. Google returns quite a bit, but I seem to be getting a little overwhelmed. Most hits seem to return discussions on 1 or 2 engines, but not about what their strengths and weaknesses are. I have about 14 years of experience with multiple languages, but primarily in the corporate I/T world, so much of the game technology is new to me.

Some of the engines, for lack of a better word, that I have seen mentioned are:
Torque
Unity
Dim3
Ogre3D
Coldstone
Crystal Space
BlitzMax
PTK
Python (various)
OpenSceneGraph

For learning, I will be working with a 2.5D spaceship type game. I tend to prefer Objective-C and Python for my language, but I am definitely flexible. Although I am starting to learn OpenGL, I am impatient and would not mind at all to build upon the work of others. Plus, others would probably do the OpenGL much better than I would. Ideally, I would like to be able to get something going where there was an image or model that I could have some real-time control over, and have this going without to much effort. I did not necesssarily want to get to bogged down in all the nice graphics effects is there was already an engine that would speed me along that curve.

If a book is the way to go just let me know. Or is it easy just to "roll your own", even at the early stage.

Thanks.
Quote this message in a reply
Sage