Programming Languages Debated

Dan Potter Wrote:Then there is VS.NET. VS.NET is a pretty serious development tool...
...for Windows. Yuck! You knew that was coming Wink

Anyway, having paid for Metrowerk's IDE in the past, and been dealt their heavy-handed upgrade pricing later on, I can say that I'm not sorry to see them leave. I think their engineers are second to none, but their management is at best the last.
Quote this message in a reply
DavidJJ
Unregistered

funkboy Wrote:Overall, I'm fairly impressed with the .Net framework.

Ugh, shudders. Except I develop websites for a living and .NET will not write code that validates to XHTML strict, which is one of the only methods to make IE use the correct rendering engine to display CSS pages properly. You wouldn't believe the issues we have between the developers at the backend and the designers at the front. We create perfect cross-platform HTML/XHTML/CSS websites only to see them break when the .NET folks get involved. To me, .aspx = blech. Huh
You just have to remember the sad fact with the .Net stuff:

It pays a lot more per hour than Mac development does.
DavidJJ Wrote:Ugh, shudders. Except I develop websites for a living and .NET will not write code that validates to XHTML strict, which is one of the only methods to make IE use the correct rendering engine to display CSS pages properly. You wouldn't believe the issues we have between the developers at the backend and the designers at the front. We create perfect cross-platform HTML/XHTML/CSS websites only to see them break when the .NET folks get involved. To me, .aspx = blech. Huh

To me, .Net is mostly C# stuff, and not a whole lot of ASP. I let other people take care of the ASP.

KB Productions, Car Care for iPhone/iPod Touch
@karlbecker_com
All too often, art is simply the loss of practicality.
C# sucks. There's a reason it's only on DOS.

It's not magic, it's Ruby.
Nayr Wrote:C# sucks. There's a reason it's only on DOS.