Beginner Iphone Game Dev

burrows111
Unregistered

Hi All, Have spent many hours before now searching for a place to post a thread to ask for help on Iphone Game Dev and I though clearly it has to be here...

Im a uni student at DMU studying Computer Games programming ( am amateur at c++ and c) , Im in my third year and have chosen my final year project to be to develop a game for the iphone:

I have decided to do
bowling, but with a twist: Use polar bear as ball ( rolled ) and penguins as the 10 pins. The world shall be set in the arctic and will be multiplayer enabled ( on one handset only but option to pick how many players)

The game will follow all 10 pin bowling rules etc, and I intend to use the accelerometer as a way of spinning the ball, and flicking finger on the touch screen to throw the ball. Now i have gave you what I intend to do, all the documentation is done, however where to start.

I have several questions to begin,

Is my idea good for a beginner, I dont think its out of my ability and i want it to get on the apple store for at least a few downloads and reviews..

I am aware that its open gl ES 2.0 that i need to begin looking at for graphics,
I know that its cocoa object C as the "core" language that i shall write in,

Having searching numerous forums to search for opinions on best books, but really which ones? I know o'reilly does very well, and there is numerous amounts of tutorials on the apple developer site but i need good paper reading.

Game engines..?? there is a few about, but can It be done entirely in open GL?
I have seen tutorials on getting objects made in say 3ds max or maya onto the IPhone... Is this the best way??

Guys, any help is awesome, im new to hear and you never know, I could be of some use to yourself?? Sneaky

Thanks, Burrows
Quote this message in a reply
Nibbie
Hi,