.obj files? What are those?

Apprentice
Could someone please explain to me what .obj files are? I'm very new to 3D programming, (as in, VERY), but I've used my degree in Google to find out the following, (I think Sad):
  • Obj files are for use in 3D games and other things.
  • It is possible to load them into Xcode projects with OpenGL and use them as such.
That's about al I know. I'm still wondering: What exactly are they? Do they hold vectors and edges and faces and such or are they encoded in a very different manner? How do you access them from OpenGL and Xcode? What sort of commands and methods are neccessary to put them in my OpenGL view? I've seen lots of implimentation tips, but nothing on what they actually are. If anyone is willing to take the time to explain this, I would really appreciate it. Thank you. Smile

"Far too many to count. I lost track at seven." ~My brother
Quote this message in a reply
.obj files are a simple text based 3d file format. They tend to hold vectors, faces and objects. The format is popular because it is well supported as an export option on most 3d graphic programs, and it is extremely easy to understand.

Here is a quick overview of the format: http://www.royriggs.com/obj.html

To use in your own project, you need to use some loading/parsing code to open and render the files. Several people on this forum have written their own (like me). Here is a fairly good one: http://www.idevgames.com/forum/showthrea...obj+loader
Apprentice
Hm... the download link is not working. "File not found", it says. I could easily find another, but if you could point me to a different one that would be nice. Smile

*thinking* Blink ... Aha!

Two more questions I came up with: Are there any freeware 3D modellers that export in .obj format? I know there are a few semi-expensive ones, but I'm not sure if there are any freeware programs.