The real meaning of GL_NICEST when dealing with fog.

Sage
I'm hammering out situations where my game engine works incorrectly on ATI cards ( where it works correctly on NVIDIA). This is pretty frustrating, since I don't actually have casual access to an ATI. Note, this is not an attack on ATI, I'm just a crapulent OpenGL programmer, is all. And I only have one computer, and it has a 5200 Fx Go.

Anyway, I've got everything pretty much taken care of except for an odd matter regarding application of fog.

My terrain is a tesselated mass of triangles, nestled inside of four "infinite" planes. Here's a view of it, where "Trn" is the terrain ( 10km sq ) and 0,1,2 & 3 are huge, single quads stretching out quite a distance:

Code:
o------------------------o
         |                        |
         | 0                      |
         o--------o------o--------o
         |        |      |        |
         | 1      | Trn  | 2      |
         o--------o------o--------o
         |                        |
         | 3                      |
         o------------------------o

Now, the four outer corners aren't actually infinitely away, more like 20km, but it's far enough, that it all fades nicely away into fog.

So, I'm using GL_NICEST for fog, since the man pages say GL_NICEST is per-pixel and considering each of these huge quads is, well, huge, I'd need per-pixel fogging to get them to fade out correctly, since per-vertex interpolation would seem like a pathological bad case to me ( since the quads are so huge the distance from the camera to each vertex would always be fogged ).

On an ATI 9600 which I've got access to, the quads "blink" in and out of correct fogging. I'm not really certain what's going on. For sake of testing, I turned off frustum culling for them ( to guarantee the blinking wasn't do to my scene graph hiding them ) and it remains. Sometimes they're correctly fogged, sometimes, not so much. I can try to dig up a screenshot later.