CoreGraphics sucks? OpenGL for 2d?

dave05
Unregistered

hey everyone,

um, I've been working on a game for a while now; it's entirely sprite-based. developer.apple.com has been my primary source of information, so the path I've taken has been as follows.

Cocoa/NSImage/drawInRect/etc... (worked fine before background implementation, except that NSImages seem to have problems with 32 bit PNGs)
--

so I ported it to :
Core Graphics/CGContext/CGContextDraw/etc... (works fine without a background, but the frame rate goes from 60 to about TEN when I add the background)

my background is in such a way that it needs to be drawn every frame, ie constant scrolling, and it has about 4 layers. I suppose the very back layer (sky, sun) need not be redrawn ever, but everything else needs to redraw at 60fps preferably...

I'm changing the screen size to 800x600x32 at the beginning. I figured my relatively slow emac 1.25ghz could completely redraw such a screen at a full frame rate. But there's something wrong with my optimization, or maybe i shouldn't be using CoreGraphics?

Is there a way to implement the CGContext methods such as CGContextSaveGState or RestoreGState in order to speed up the drawing process?

If not...

I've looked at OpenGL as an alternative, but it doesn't seem to be very friendly to 2d-minded people. I know i have to set vertices for the 4 corners and then draw a "texture" in the rectangle... but how is this done? and how do I draw semi-transparent image in the same way that i can with CGContextSetAlpha or [drawInRect .. .. .. fraction:0.5] ?

I've been using several other forums, but you guys actually seem to know what you're talking about, so... help, please! thanks.

Also, my main game loop is still based on an NSTimer and a subclass of NSView... is there a way to strip out the NSView wrapper and just draw directly to the context of the window i create? blah.
Quote this message in a reply
Sage