really big difference in object sizes

elerion
Unregistered

hello anybody,

i'm a hobby programmer and currently working on a more or less realistic space game. My problem is that some spacecrafts are of the size of below 100m and some should be really big ( > 1km ) and i'm not sure how i should draw them, because the really big objects ( also planets ) should be visible even if they're outside of the frustum. I've made up two possibilities so far:

1. draw big objects on a different, bigger scale first and use accumulation buffer to add the small objects.

2. render the big objects to a texture and map it on a quad in the back.

could the first method even work out ( depth bufferHuh )? which method is better for performance and is there a possibility i missed?

Thanks for any advice...
Stefan
Quote this message in a reply
Oldtimer
Just a question - why do you need the objects to be visible outside the frustum?
Also, I believe that you mean the depth buffer, not the accum buffer. The way I'd go about it is to cull out any objects outside the frustum, and then draw the ships front-to-back. Large ships shouldn't be a problem fill-rate-wise, but I suppose that they have more polygons, so you might perhaps investigate the possibility of a level-of-detail reduction scheme.
elerion
Unregistered

i'd like to have a good resolution even for the small vessels, so if a big object is already too far away to be in the frustum it should still be drawn if it would be visible in "reality" ( for example a planet some 10'000s of km's away ). And i wrote depth buffer because i don't know much about accumulation buffers. I thought that perhaps if you use an accumulation buffer the depth test would still be done between objects of the different drawings.

The level-of-detail scheme sounds good. I don't know why it didn't occur to me... but this doesn't solve the problem.
Luminary