Random pointer issues

Kaamoss
Unregistered

Hello everyone, my name is Matt. This is my first post here. Anyways, I'm new to developing for the OS X platform as I just purchased a 12" ibook about a month ago. I know C++ and Java quite well and am trying to get the hang of objective-c. Anyways I decided a networked java texas holdem game in objective C would be a good place to start as I already made a decent one in java about 6 months ago. I seem to be having an issue however where my array of Card * objects are not being stored correctly or it's only storing a reference point which keeps dynamically changing. I've run through the debugger and it loads the card objects correctly into the array but when I goto print it, the cards are FUBAR. And my shuffle algorithm keeps giving me a SIGSEGV error and exits with code 11. Anyways I'm figuring that I'm just not grasping some fundamental concept regarding classes and pointers and the way objective-c handles copying and memory allocation/ deallocation. I'd be more than willing to throw the xcode project onto my website if someone here wouldn't mind letting me know what's up. I apologize if this in the wrong forum but I figure that this is a work in progress that has simply stopped progressing. Thanks for your time.

Matthew FitzPatrick
Quote this message in a reply
Hello and welcome to iDev. I'm just learning Obj-C but I know C++ and if you post the part of the code where the problem is, I'm sure I could help. Grin I really don't know how well Java and Obj-C link but it's worth a try. I'd like it if you threw the source on your site also, it would help.

[OFF-TOPIC](What a coincidence, my name is Matt too...)[/OFF-TOPIC]

Last login: Sat Aug 6 09:15:05 on console
Welcome to Darwin!
Matt-Chelens-Computer:~ matthew$
Kaamoss
Unregistered

Awesome I would appreciate any help, here is the link. Code Listing