Modeling Units

Sage
Posts: 1,066
Joined: 2004.07
Post: #1
I'm trying to figure out how I should do measurements when setting up Maya. Should I stick with centimeters and later convert things to meters (i.e. for every unit we just assume 1cm = 1m so that I can keep the models small in Maya but actually have them large) or just use meters? I'm trying to avoid anything but metric as it will wind up with bad physics when I put the items in the game. So far I've had troubles with using meters for a unit because the clipping happens so fast.

How do you set up units for modeling (in Maya or others)? Why do you choose that unit?
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 133
Joined: 2008.05
Post: #2
As long as you stay consistent, it doesn't matter what you use.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: 2002.10
Post: #3
I think if you are going to have cm detail on your m models, then model in meters. Otherwise, don't bother. Just keep it consistent.

---Kelvin--
15.4" MacBook Pro revA
1.83GHz/2GB/250GB
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Posts: 1,066
Joined: 2004.07
Post: #4
I was mainly curious just because of the physics later on if I should model things in meters or not. I think I'll just stick with cm because the clipping doesn't take effect.
Quote this message in a reply
Puzzler183
Unregistered
 
Post: #5
Yeah. The only units that ever matter are that you stick with radians for angles and steradians for solid angle, for the fast math.
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Posts: 1,066
Joined: 2004.07
Post: #6
Speaking of radians, why does glRotate() default take degrees? Or am I doing something weird because, in my programs, I have to use degrees for glRotate()?

What are steradians and solid angles?
Quote this message in a reply
Oldtimer
Posts: 832
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #7
glRotatef takes degress, for some unfathomable reason. Steradians are for "3d angles" - "solid angles". Like so:
[Image: steradian.gif]
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Posts: 1,066
Joined: 2004.07
Post: #8
Interesting. So variable q is the steradian measurement? What in the world could you use that for?
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: 2004.07
Post: #9
Nick Wrote:Interesting. So variable q is the steradian measurement? What in the world could you use that for?

rotating Rasp

It's not magic, it's Ruby.
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Advanced poly modeling set, ORIONFLAME .3, is released ! killMeNow 2 3,613 Sep 2, 2005 01:41 PM
Last Post: killMeNow
  Modeling artists Buzzboy_109 15 6,795 Aug 4, 2005 12:39 PM
Last Post: unknown
  3D modeling Buzzboy_109 54 19,521 Jul 30, 2005 05:54 PM
Last Post: NCarter
  3-D modeling/animation apps gatti 40 19,142 Jun 2, 2005 06:36 AM
Last Post: willThimbleby
  Character Joint Modeling whogben 1 2,716 Nov 26, 2003 04:40 AM
Last Post: morgant