Need a bit of porting help

Lindley
Unregistered

Hi, I'm a long-time Mac user, and I've been a CS student for many years.....but I haven't actually done much programming on Macs before, so I need some help.

The final project for my Computer Graphics class was to write a roller coaster program in OpenGL. I wrote it entirely on school Linux machines, however; I'm now trying to get it to work on my TiBook under 10.3 with as few changes to the actual code as possible.

The project used GLUT, and for textures, it used something called libpicio, which is a simplified interface to libtiff.

Currently, I have managed to get it to run correctly as a command-line X11 app. However, I'd like it convert it into a standalone app with an actual interface, if that's possible without too much work. (The project is over, this port is just for the hell of it.)

What I've done so far is used fink to install libtiff and libglut, and simply compiled using Make. I'd like to figure out how to make it work in Xcode.

First, what type of Xcode project should I use? None of them seems ideally suited to what I want. The roller coaster program is written in C. Would making it a Cocoa application still allow me to use GLUT for windowing, etc, or would I have to change that? For the most part it would probably be an easy change, as long as there's an equivalent to glutSolidTorus.

Second, as of now, I'm getting "_jpeg_std_error" undeclared symbol errors when I run. This didn't happen when compiling with make, so I'm not sure what's going on. Anyone have any ideas?
If not, could you suggest an alternative simple image-reading library? All I really need to do is read in textures in a format acceptable to glTexImage2D.

Thanks in advance!
Quote this message in a reply