Animated Sprites Games under Mac OS X - Where to Start ?

Trax
Unregistered

Hi everyone...

I'm new on this forum, and I hope you will be able to help me because I'm kind of desperated. I've been programming Cocoa for 2 years. I know basic C and Obj-C, and a little openGL.

I tried to make simple 2D animated sprites games, but I was always pissed off (the kind of anger where you want to tear your hair off) because I couldn't understand why Cocoa can't handle 30 FPS animation with simple triangles and squares moving around the screen.

Unfortunately, I still can't. After a lot of fumbling, I could only come to the conclusion that I took the wrong path at the beginning, and I'm still stuck in that path, and as a result, everything goes wrong, no matter the effort.

Here's a description of the last thing I did that lead me to this forum :

A black NSView about half the size of the screen with a gray triangle that moves according to user input.
Upon user input, the triangle can shoot little yellow lines straight ahead.

That's all. No collision test for now. As soon as there's more than 1 projectile on the view, my frame rate seems to slow down dramatically. I read one of Andrews Sage's articles about not worrying about frame rate at the beginning, but hey, having all the fancy physics and every variable working just well is good, indeed, but it's useless if your frame rate makes the game unplayable.

Here are some of my other conceptions I have about Mac programming. I'd like to know what you think about it, or just tell me if I'm plain wrong.

- I don't want to use Carbon, because I feel like it's legacy and seems quite complicated.
- I don't think about openGL because to me, it's for 3D graphic. And I don't want to do 3D right now.
- If I don't use openGL, I get ugly results as described above. Quartz seems to be good, but not for animated graphics.